El camino a España comienza AKA the journey to Spain begins


p348602-spain-famous_bull

The Dangling object between his legs is a delicacy!!

So , all my faithful (few) followers, the time has at last come. This Monday I depart at long  last on my mini adventure for 2009 . Ariiiba! I have been scheming, plotting, stressing, laughing and looking forward to my first overseas trip for the last year and at last it begins.

I hope that this journey to the land of paella, bull fights and flamenco will inspire me to live a life full of excitement, love, gratitude and adventure. This past year ( I refer to 2008 ) had been one where I have at long last put my head down and focused on work , family and finding a side of me that sets my mind on something and achieves it . I’ve always struggled with finishing anything I’ve started but this year I grew up and started treating myself with more care and respect and hopefully that helped me treat others with the same consideration. However, in doing so, I also tended to focus too much on the responsible side and I think I forgot how to have fun.

I turned into a bit of a hermit. Worried now that as I have at last put away the irresponsible side of me, if  I now dared to do something a bit fun or crazy it might unleash that selfish person who does what she wants, when she wants to ( i.e. being involved with men I know are no good , driving in altered states and generally just getting caught up in my own wants and dramarama’s). I trust that 2008 has put paid to that reckless side of me that almost met a nasty end in December 2007. 2008 was the year I  finally grew up. Hooray!!

This year is allegedly the start of my Saturn Return and although I don’t buy into all that ‘new agey’ hullabaloo, I kind of  like the premise.

Saturn Return:

Astrologers call the period between ages twenty-eight and thirty “Saturn Return.” That’s because it’s the first time the planet Saturn completes its cycle through your birth chart and returns to the spot it occupied when you were born. Internationally respected astrologer Rob Hand calls Saturn Return “one of the most important times in your life. . . a time of endings and new beginnings.”

For most of us, ending a phase of life that is familiar and embarking on one that is new and untried is unsettling, even painful. Few people describe Saturn Return as a pleasant period. While undergoing your Saturn Return you may find yourself turning inward and reflecting on your individual destiny. You examine your true needs and desires and the role you want to play on the world’s stage. You may feel lonely and alienated from those around you, while family and friends think you are shutting them out. But this is a necessary period of consolidation, when you must retreat from the distractions of the outer world and focus on yourself at your most fundamental level. The Saturn Return is every individual’s search for the Holy Grail.

As I turn 28 the day after I arrive in Espanja I like the idea that I am entering a new phase in my life. I can definitely relate to the Saturn Return. Looking back on the past year (27 was after all the age I entered my 28th year on the planet) I said goodbye to bad habits, fair -weather friends, experienced a huge shift in my personal life and began focusing on what would really make me a whole, happy and useful human being whilst I take up space on this planet.

So enough of that deep, soul searching malarkey —— on to the fun things I hope to experience and report back to you whilst I wander about the city of Barthelonaaaa!!!  Bring on the Bull’s Testicles

5 thoughts on “El camino a España comienza AKA the journey to Spain begins

  1. All the best for your trip, I know you’re going to enjoy it! Take lots of pics and keep in touch. We are going to miss you in the office, chatting via GTalk will not be the same 🙂

    Keep well!

  2. Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah going to miss you so much!
    Work will be more grey. But update me on all the Barthelonah goss over skype!

Leave a Reply

